Cincinnati Rotary Honors Educators

June 20, 2019

(First row, left to right) Doug Adams, Rotary Club of Cincinnati; Deidre Simpson, teacher, Evanston Academy; Brynn Thomas, teacher, School for Creative and Performing Arts; (second row) Lisa Votaw, principal, Aiken High School; Superintendent Laura Mitchell; Rick Flynn, Rotary Club of Cincinnati; (third row) Mike Vilardo, Rotary Club of CincinnatiThe Rotary Club of Cincinnati honored four CPS educators at the organization's annual Teacher Appreciation event.

The four recipients include Deidre Simpson, teacher, Evanston Academy; Carrie McCarthy, teacher, Woodward Career Technical High School; Brynn Thomas, teacher, School for Creative and Performing Arts (SCPA); Lisa Votaw, principal, Aiken High School.

Simpson was honored as Innovator of the Year for designing a curriculum that connects her students with the Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum in Washington, D.C., via real-time internet connections, thanks to the support of GE Aviation. She also leads the school's award-winning robotics team, earning more than 25 trophies during the past eight years.

Carrie McCarthy received the Teacher Leader award for providing a classroom that allows students to experiment, take chances, and develop their skills to succeed beyond high school. She also creates and presents professional development activities for teachers across the district.

Brynn Thomas was presented the Community Service/Humanitarian Award for creating opportunities for her students to engage in meaningful work and critical thinking, both in and out of the classroom. Thomas was responsible for launching the African American Studies course at SCPA.

Lisa Votaw was named Administrator of the Year for creating a safe learning environment for students, many arriving from different countries and cultures around the world, and introducing them to potential career pathways.

The Rotary Club of Cincinnati has presented the awards to CPS teachers and administrators for more than 10 years. The organization also honors public employees of the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office, Cincinnati Fire and Cincinnati Police departments.